Saturday, 18 April 2009

FAQ - Jedi Showdown



Our fellow play-testers around the globe have started to make some very valid questions about the new game, so here's the FAQ based on those queries:

When an opponent attacks you, do you have to announce your DS roll before he throws his die? No. You only take a DS roll if your opponent's attack actually hits you.

How far can you throw a lightsabre? Does it automatically return like a lightglaive? You can throw a lightsabre up to 2un away, and it automatically returns to the wielder to keep the game practical, but you spend 1 Force pt. in the process.

I noticed that using Flurry of Blows on a single character is nearly the same as spending action pts. to attack it. Why is that? Flurry of Blows is intended as a tactical move to fight multiple opponents and therein lies the advantage of the technique. We wanted to avoid players misusing it to hammer down a single opponent at a meagre 2 action pts. To achieve your desired effect, try combining a twin lightsabres choice with Sith Rage (Bua-ha-ha-ha!).

If I spend 2 action pts. to conjure Sith Rage, only 1pt remains for the blows. Wouldn't it be easier to just use Attack actions? When you conjure Sith Rage on one turn, you can use it on the next round of combat. In other words, it remains "active" until you actually use it to unleash your wrath upon another character. The down-side to holding Sith Rage is the fact that while you do, you won't recover Force Pts. because you have committed 4pts to create and hold your rage active. You only start recovering Force Pts. again after you let go your rage.

If you are a Sith and you have a double lightsabre, you get double attacks and double defences. Can you use them against different opponents, or do you use them against the same one? You can use them on different opponents. This is what makes the double lightsabre different fom the twin lightsabres option (two lightsabres), where you re-roll misses in close combat.

Can a Sith protagonist perform Sith Vampirism on a companion character? If the companion character is a padawan learner, yes. If the companion is a droid, it wouldn't make sense.

Can a Sith protagonist perform Sith Coruption on a companion character? Same as above. It only makes sense to curupt a padawan. Droids are immune to Sith Corruption (that's why Sith masters like droids).

Can you Force Throw a droid? Yes, and the 10pt damage affects both the droid and the target.

Can you Force Throw a padawan or a protagonist? Yes, but they get to make a free FA saving throw.

If you announce that you are ready for a lightsabre riposte, do you still attack if you fail your DS roll and are eliminated from the game? Yes. Jedi and Sith characters can launch a death-blow if they have saved action pts. for all out defence and announced riposte moves.

I noticed a character can easily cross the width and span of a game board to reach an opponent. Was that intentional? Yes. Jedi and Sith characters are supposed to keep clashing at all times during the match, after all it is a duel. You will also note that, depending on how you characterise your duel grounds, a Force Leap will get you on top of terrain features etc. The idea behind this is that you can run, but you cannot hide during your showdown. It all comes down to a question of strategy and management of your action and force points.

This is it for the time being, but we're sure new questions will come in. If you have any doubts about the game, write to us at morgangames@terra.com.br.

No comments:

Post a Comment